Lemonade

21 Jun

It amazes me how you can make something so delicious, out of bitter lemons.  You know the saying, “when life gives you lemons, make lemonade!” We can really do this!  It is possible… but if you are anything like me, your lemonade has to be sweet.  I am convinced you can not make lemonade without sugar (and plenty of it).  So what do we do when life gives us lemons, but no sugar??

Psalms 119:103 “How sweet are thy words unto my taste! [yea, sweeter] than honey to my mouth!”

The word of our Lord is sweet, it is this that we need to make refreshing lemonade out of lemons given to us by life.  When our minds are focused on the Most High, there is no bitter situation that can last.

I have been handed my fair share of lemons in life.  Big ones.  I’m talking the large lemons you have to pay the full dollar for at the grocery store, not the little .30 cent ones.  My faith in God has definitely helped me through all these times.

One time I care to share at the moment involves being diagnosed with endometriosis at around 16 years of age.  I was told by doctors that infertility was likely.  I might be able to have children, but the process might take some time.  I came to terms with the fact that I might need fertility treatments in the future, I accepted it, and moved forward.  I knew God would have me be a mother in my lifetime, it is my calling, no matter what the doctors said.  Later on down the line, another doctor stepped in and gave me some news.  Another lemon.  I was diagnosed with APS.  This condition is also not child friendly as most women with this are unable to carry a child.  They might be able to conceive, but with an 80% chance of miscarriage.  Whats with the double whammy on pregnancy in my body?! (Anybody remember the game Press Your Luck? no whammies, no whammies, no whammies, STOP! lol) Well, I was hit kind of hard by this diagnosis.  I KNOW I am to be a mother in this lifetime, God gave me that vision at a young age and I’ve held on to it dearly… but the double whammy?!

I prayed, I thanked God for giving me the vision of motherhood, because without that, it would have been tough for me to get here today.  That confirmation given to me was my comfort, my sweetness.  It gave me the faith to know that my doctors word is not final, God’s word is.

Well lo and behold, guess who’s preggo?? You betcha, Mrs. Double Whammy herself.  My husband and I weren’t even trying, doctors are stunned.  I have now reached 11 and a half weeks of pregnancy, and things are going smoothly.  My chances of miscarriage have dropped considerably.  I have to take a baby aspirin each day to keep my blood in check (it’s quite unruly), but God is good and things are looking GREAT.  Doc’s are surprised I don’t need any other medication.  How’s that for a PhD?  They better get themselves to a seminary!  Now THAT is knowledge!

So aside from all-day sickness (I refuse to call it morning sickness, that is so misleading) I’m blessed and doing well.  Getting plenty of rest, and trying to re-learn my body as it seems all out of whack at the moment.  Another blessing to add to my long list.

So go ahead life, keep throwing me lemons, I’ve got God as my sugar and you better believe I’m making lemonade (and a baby too!)

13 Responses to “Lemonade”

  1. JoNsUn B June 22, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    Wow! That was an amazing post Tasha! I know everything will be ok. I am praying for you and Smoove. You guys are truly a blessing!

  2. The Mrs. June 22, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

    Thanks Broddy! Appreciate your prayers 🙂

  3. Roslyn June 22, 2010 at 8:41 pm #

    HA HA…I love the delivery Tasha…Thank you for finally announcing the news…now I don’t have to keep it a secret anymore…secrets are hard:-) I am super happy for you and Keith…I can’t wait to see that lil Spencer…just the same I can’t wait to read your blogs on you pregnancy journey….Love you guys…Congratulations!

  4. AnaLisa June 22, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

    OMG!! Congratulations!! That is awesome!!

  5. Maria June 22, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

    Yeah! First off, congratulations on the pregnancy! My sister also suffers from endometriosis and is pregnant. (I think I told you that already.) Amazing pairs…rather than a double whammy, right?

    Second, congratulations on starting your own blog! I can’t wait to read more. 🙂

  6. The Mrs. June 22, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

    Yes amazing pairs! I’m looking forward to future writings on my new little space in the blog world. Thanks guys!

  7. Shannon Brown June 23, 2010 at 12:29 am #

    Yeah!!! Go Team!!! Hal and I are very happy for you both!!!! You are in our prayers, for your marriage, your business and your baby!!! Take care and God bless you. The blog is great, the proe engaging and witty. You go, Gurl!!!!!

  8. Deborah Spencer June 23, 2010 at 12:39 am #

    God is amazing!!! Keep walking in faith, remember faith the size of a mustard…Keep making lemonade. What a powerful testimony.

  9. The Mrs. June 23, 2010 at 12:42 am #

    Thanks grandma 🙂

  10. Lindsey Chaney June 23, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Great post very inspirational. Its so wonderful to see Gods work and how blessed you guys are. Can’t wait to see the baby in person!

  11. The Mrs. June 24, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    me too Lindsey! lol 🙂

  12. Alicia Glenn June 28, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    That was too inspirational! i am so excited for you and Keith! Pregnancy is a blessing in itself and being a mom is so amazing! I can’t wait to see your future blogs…keep them coming!

  13. Minister Jones October 20, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    Praise be to God who giveth us the Victory! I too was diagnosed with endometriosis at the age of 19 and was told by 4 different docs in two different states that I would never have children… I have two healthy beautiful blessings. I await with you in great anticipation the delivery of your first of many (LOL) bundles of joy!! Love ya! Pass me a glass of lemonade, please!

Leave a Reply

