And so parenthood begins…

22 Jan

A high risk pregnancy has come to a beautiful ending. It can be done, because God will always make a way, out of no way. (cliche much? but oh so true!)

Morning sickness, pelvic pains, 30 extra pounds (ugh!)…. my pregnancy, although high risk, went fairly smoothly! No serious issues except for low amniotic fluid levels in the last couple of weeks.

Day before Sarai's arrival

Day before Sarai's arrival

Then came Christmas Eve… my scheduled c-section was only 6 days away (December 31st)… I started having what I believed were contractions, and good Lord were they uncomfortable. I played tough girl and just stayed in bed thinking they were Braxton Hicks with a little extra kick to them. Christmas day came and for the most part I felt just fine with very little pain.

December 29th, my mother-in-law’s 50th birthday! We went out to dinner at the Grand Lux Cafe (YUM!) with almost 30 other people and I felt great…even have fun pictures of the night! We arrived home late and the greatness oh so quickly faded. All night I was having those same “contraction” pains about every 10 minutes! It took awhile, but I finally fell asleep… only to wake up to the pains again. They steadily got worse, and were starting to make me nauseous. After much hesitation I called the doctor and was told to get checked out on the monitor at the hospital. Blah! I didn’t want to go! Sarai was scheduled to be born the next day and I had things to do before she came!  (yes, I somehow figured I could prepare for a baby in one day…)

At the hospital I have my cervix checked by a woman with the worst possible cervix checking skills. She tore me in half and decided I was “very little dilated”  (Gee.. thanks!)  I’m placed on the monitor and my pains continue, but they are not quite lining up with the contractions the monitor is showing. I was told I would probably get to go home and come back the next morning as previously scheduled. Then a light must have went on in the room and doctors REALLY loo

Keith in his scrubs

Keith in his scrubs

ked at my charts and noticed that Sarai was not doing too well in the womb. Her heart rate kept dropping, then it would pick back up, then drop again, then skyrocket, then drop again. The atmosphere completely changed and I was told “We have to get her out as soon as possible”  Not exactly the words one expects to hear.  I was terrified, the doctors looked absolutely terrified, and the place was a madhouse. My husband ran to the car to get the camera and they gave him some scrubs to wear. I was wheeled into the operating room in no time flat where yet another dead brained doctor tried to give me a spinal block. Tried is the keyword here. The needle was placed in my back AT LEAST 7 times (I lost count after a while) and the anesthesiologist kept apologizing… my pains continued, along with added pain in my spine.. what in the world is going on around here?! The doctor then says “We are going to have to put her under general anesthesia, the baby isn’t doing well.”

Surgery Prep

I'm not too happy about this picture

I look up and check the monitor to see that baby’s heart rate is almost at 180 beats!  She was under SO much stress! I told the doctor’s “I’m not going under general anesthesia, get it done!” (who wants to miss the birth of their baby??) and lo and behold, the doctor finally got it right. After what felt like 10 minutes later,  we hear the beautiful sound of crying. She made it out safe. She looked SO perfect. Tears were streaming down my face, my husband is crying more than the baby and we are happy she’s out and looking great. What an amazing moment in which truly no words can express.

The doctors start sewing me back up and I hear him say,

“Natasha, you know what? Those pains you were having were from your placenta, it was deteriorating and breaking off the wall. We are so glad you came in when you did.” Placental abruption, ugh!  At this point I’m not going to let anything ruin this great moment… but I couldn’t help but think why this wasn’t caught earlier? My child’s life was in serious danger and the fact that my placenta wasn’t doing so hot should have definitely been caught. Then I hear this… “Oh, also looks like you have a bicornuate uterus” Huh?? Nobody has ever told me this before! There’s pregnancy whammy number 3! Endo, APS, and a bicornuate uterus…

There she is!

Sarai Ruth

Isn’t it obvious that God has great plans for our daughter?  I’m so thankful He’s entrusted my husband and I with her, especially since I have a body that seems practically impossible to bear a child in…. I’m amazed.

Sarai Ruth came here from heaven weighing in at 5 lbs 9 oz and 17 1/2 inches long on December 30th. A tiny little thing (most likely due to placental issues and my laundry list of other issues) but my Lord is she STRONG. She’s beautiful, powerful, and melts the heart of anyone and everyone around her. Even as I type this, tears flow down my cheeks. I’m so in love.

We are now 3 weeks into our new life as mom and pop.  I can’t believe I haven’t slept in 3 weeks (lol!).  She’s worth every minute of awake time though 🙂  Sarai has grown tremendously and is close to 7 pounds now and about 20 1/2 inches long.  (homegirl can eat!)  I’m successfully breastfeeding, and even using cloth diapers!  She loves her cloth diapers… how do I know? Because she lets it ALL go as soon as we put her in one.  Oh the touch, the feel, of cotton……

The LORD hath called me from the womb; from the bowels of my mother hath he made mention of my name.
~ Isaiah 49:1

Our Precious Blessing

Our Precious Blessing

2 Responses to “And so parenthood begins…”

  1. Maria January 24, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    Way to go on the breastfeeding, cloth diapering, and being a mama! 🙂

  2. AnaLisa January 25, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    Congrats!! Babies are such blessings!! Kudos to using cloth diapers. We are using them too!! I love them!!

Leave a Reply

